Accessible pizza bar in Fukuoka, Japan

• Accessible pizza bar in Fukuoka, Japan

Posted by lorenzo.panthea on February 16, 2022 at 12:06 pm

Hi All! I am Lorenzo, from Rome and currently living in Japan. I wrote to Accessible Japan some time ago and I was suggested to join this community and ask for your advice.

My wife and I will open Panthea, a pizza bar, in Fukuoka, as soon as possible.

We would like to make the venue accessible to everyone, as that’s the spirit my wife and I are undertaking this project. I am in contact with an Interior Design company here in Japan and I expressed them our desire to make the venue as accessible as possible, but I don’t know how much experience they have on this exact topic. I have limited knowledge myself, but I would like to fix that. I wonder if you can suggest pdf documents available online with requirements we can follow to be considered an accessible venue, so that I can make sure first hand everything is done as good as possible.

Also I would like to have your opinion on having a bar counter somehow similar to the one in the attached picture. At first I was thinking it might be a very interesting design in order to have people on the wheelchair join everybody on the lower side of the bar counter. However, after an initial enthusiasm for the design I thought it would not be comfortable at all if two friends, one with wheelchair and one without one, come and drink together. Also I read this article of a group of Japanese students testing a “rising” wheelchair: https://mainichi.jp/english/articles/20190601/p2a/00m/0dm/017000c

That got me thinking that maybe all customers would appreciate more a simple table to be all at the same eye level with their friends and just leave the counter for people that want to stand.

Got any documents to share and ideas for bar counter and whatnot? Any kind of input is really appreciated, we are all ears.

Cheers!

Nomad Traveler replied 1 year, 9 months ago 3 Members · 5 Replies