Wheelchair Accessible Design

• Wheelchair Accessible Design

Posted by designstudent on October 7, 2019 at 3:16 pm

Hi, I am a design student in a course about Human Factors and Inclusive Design. I am working on a project to redesign self-checkout machines at grocery stores to make them more inclusive for people in wheelchairs and those with mobility issues. I am hoping to learn about the issues people struggle with most when using the machines or why people do not use them. Is the height or distance away from the screen an issue? Would it be helpful if the screen was adjustable or moveable? Are the messages on the screen clear? I would really appreciate any feedback, comments, or suggestions. Thank you for your time! 

schroth-sensei replied 4 years, 5 months ago 3 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Josh Grisdale

October 7, 2019 at 4:00 pm

Hello,

Can you share some pictures of the ones you are discussing?  Likely they are different depending on what country you are in (and we are an international crew!)

• designstudent

October 7, 2019 at 4:10 pm

Here are some photos of self-checkout machines we are working with

• Josh Grisdale

October 7, 2019 at 4:30 pm

Is the area underneath necessary?  I have limit reach and if I came in directly, I wouldn’t be able to reach the touch screen because my footrests would hit the machine first.  Having the monitor at the forefront would be a first move.

Maybe @Schroth.Sensei has some ideas?  He works in CAD and design.

• schroth-sensei

October 8, 2019 at 3:43 am

I would start with Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Standards for Accessible Design, here: https://www.ada.gov/regs2010/2010ADAStandards/2010ADAstandards.htm