Blind College Student Visiting Tokyo

• Blind College Student Visiting Tokyo

Posted by michaelfales on January 23, 2019 at 3:13 am

I am a college instructor bringing a group of 14 students to Japan May 2-15, 2019 to study culture and religion. One of our students is blind. He is interested in how Japan deals or doesn’t deal with disability issues, particularly visual impairment.  We have a free day in Tokyo on May 6. I would love to find someone who is visually impaired or who works in that area to meet with him on that day. Is there someone you could connect me with? Thanks very much for your help and for the important work you do.

Mark replied 4 years, 12 months ago 4 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • Accessible Japan

January 23, 2019 at 8:25 am

Hello,

I can certainly look for someone!  Will you have a translator with you?  The only visually impaired people I know only speak Japanese.

• michaelfales

January 24, 2019 at 12:33 am

Unfortunately, he only speaks English. I would be happy to pay someone to translate if there is someone available to do so. I think this would be a very valuable experience for this student. Thanks very much for any assistance you can offer. It would also be valuable for him to establish an email correspondence ahead of our trip so he can ask questions.

• Accessible Japan

January 24, 2019 at 2:45 pm

I’ll look around for some options!

• Accessible Japan

January 24, 2019 at 2:46 pm

@bookman do you have any contacts?

• Mark

January 24, 2019 at 2:57 pm

Yes, I have a few contacts in mind.

Several of my friends in the blind and deafblind communities speak English and may be available on that day. It’d help if I could have some additional information about your itinerary.

• Accessible Japan

January 24, 2019 at 4:39 pm

Hello again,