Disabled Veteran Unable to Attend AnimeJapan 2019

• Disabled Veteran Unable to Attend AnimeJapan 2019

Posted by bobp on December 28, 2018 at 12:12 pm

I am a Disabled Veteran who has developed an interest in anime and everything else in Japan. So I thought it would not be too hard to go to AnimeJapan 2019 in March and maybe take in Akihabara and a few other Tokyo places. I am even seriously learning Japanese and can get by with the vocabulary I have now for visiting I believe.

No matter which Tour agency I go to, they want me to use my own scooter and have a “tour buddy”. My scooter is provided by the VA so I do not have spare batteries and I am concerned about my charger with the 100V mains Tokyo has.

Even at the supposedly disability friendly Japan tour agency I will not name there was a whole list “of things we will not do” like assisting with luggage combined with not hiring assistants. So I could not even get what I needed at any cost. Also, I could not go on a tour because you have to be able to walk 6-9 miles so I would have to do something individually. Oh and we might be able to accommodate you once we start our accessible tours date TBD.

So if anyone has any ideas I would like to hear them. I can use a cane for moderate distances but long walks and heavy lifting is out of the question. I will be glad to share more details if anyone can help.

Accessible Japan replied 5 years, 1 month ago 2 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • Accessible Japan

December 28, 2018 at 4:06 pm

Hi!

Great to hear about your interest in Japan.

For your battery charger, it should be OK as Japan is 100v.  However, you should always check with the maker of your scooter to confirm. (Here is more information on power here: https://www.accessible-japan.com/voltage-japan-wheelchair-battery-chargers/).  Also, you can rent a wheelchair or scooter here if that is easier. We can help you with that if you like.