Getting around Osaka

• Getting around Osaka

Posted by Chica on February 17, 2024 at 11:13 am

Hi all, newbie here! I hope some of you can help. I am (ambitiously) taking my mid-80s parents to Osaka for 5 days – I think this will their last overseas holiday sadly. My father has limited mobility & uses a walking stick but can only really manage 300-500m in one stretch. My mother has moderate dementia and cannot be left alone except in familiar surroundings.

While the Accessible Japan website has information generally, it only has detailed info on how to access Osaka Castle. Can anyone provide any other suggestions for accessible sights in Osaka? I already have tickets for Umeda Sky Building & Harukas 300 as my parents like views and also teamLab Botanical Gardens. (Rest assured, we’ll be taxiing to these places.)

I’ve also arranged a day trip to Kyoto with a guide in a private vehicle.

Any tips/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. And if anyone knows if there is a trolley/golf cart at teamLab Botanical Gardens, that’d be amazing as I’ve not been able to find anything online. I know one option of accessing the Botanical Gardens would be to rent a wheelchair for my father but I don’t think he will accept it…

Thanks in advance!!

AsiaMarketMakers replied 1 month, 3 weeks ago 5 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • Carlos

February 17, 2024 at 5:27 pm

Is it safe for you to take your mom to another country in her condition? What if she wanders away when you’re not looking? Can she handle the flight? Does Japan approve all of the medication she can not live without? If she has a meltdown and has to be hospitalized, will her travel insurance cover the expenses? Can you handle both of your parents’ needs by yourself and still enjoy the trip? Or will you be having others join you to assist your parents?