Moving to Japan as a fresh graduate

• Moving to Japan as a fresh graduate

Posted by carln1 on June 9, 2020 at 11:59 am

Hi Josh and all!

My name is Carl (from the Philippines) and I was born with orthopedic disability though I move around using a wheelchair. I have visited Japan twice already (November 2015 and New Years 2018-19) and I enjoyed it because of how the country’s open and accommodating for people with disabilities. However, I decided to pursue migration to Japan

I graduated from a bachelor’s degree in IT and currently a fresh graduate with no experience. I was wondering if you guys have any experience or tips that you can share on how to migrate…

Do I need to gain experience first in my home country? or is there other ways like becoming a student or english teacher first?

Thank you everyone and nice to meet you!

carln1 replied 3 years, 10 months ago 2 Members · 5 Replies
  • 5 Replies
  • Josh Grisdale

June 10, 2020 at 11:33 am

Hi Carl!

Great to hear you love Japan!

Well, you have one of the biggest requirements – a degree. You cannot move here without a degree (or a few other situations).

First, the good news: if you get a job and therefore a visa, you are entitled to the same benefits as anyone else with a disability here. So, if you get here you can get personal care workers, rail discounts etc.

The challenge is always with finding a job… and you need an employer to sponsor your visa. They become responsible for you in a way, so, it is risk for them. And if you have a disability, it may seem like to big of a risk. I’m not trying to be discouraging, but just letting you know their thought process.