Segway as disability vehicle in Japan?

• Segway as disability vehicle in Japan?

Posted by Corine on August 25, 2018 at 3:58 pm

Hi there. I’m new to this forum. I’m a high school teacher in New Zealand, and am taking some students to Japan in December this year. One of the students uses a Segway as her mobility scooter after losing the use of one of her hips following a serious infection. We are trying to find out if it would be possible to bring the Segway with her to Japan, or if not, if it is possible to hire one in Japan for two weeks. If that were possible, then do the Japanese authorities accept Segways as a mobility device, or just as a recreational device…? In other words, would she be able to use all the wheelchair accessible features at train stations etc? I’ve tried to Google this, but I haven’t been able to find anything helpful yet… She is not really able to use a wheelchair due to the angle at which her hip was fused, hence the Segway. Thanks so much in advance for any advice 🙂

wilgo replied 5 years, 7 months ago 4 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • wilgo

August 25, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Hi,

As long as I know, nobody is allowed to drive Segway here in Japan, except the cases where the special permission are given by the road traffic law, such as special events or experimental researches how Segway works on public roads.  It’s not a good information for you and your student, sorry to say.

I will check the latest regulation and status about Segway in public places.

• Accessible Japan

August 25, 2018 at 5:39 pm

Hello,

If you are talking about a regular Segway, then it will definitely not be allowed to be ridden on the train, you would need to carry it.

It may be ok on the street but I’m not sure.

If it is a wheelchair with an elevated leg rest, could that work?

• Joan Pahisa

August 25, 2018 at 6:52 pm

Dear Corine,