Transportation Improvement Ideas?

• Transportation Improvement Ideas?

Posted by Kathleen on July 17, 2018 at 3:27 pm

Hi, I’m a chronically ill student working on a project at Tokyo Tech this Summer about transportation accessibility. I was wondering if I could crowd source some input from the disabled community. How do you think Japan’s transportation system could improve and be more accessible? I appreciate any ideas, no matter how small or optimistic. Thanks!

Josh Grisdale replied 5 years, 8 months ago 4 Members · 3 Replies
  • 3 Replies
  • Accessible Japan

July 17, 2018 at 3:42 pm

Hello,

Welcome to the forum!

In addition to making routes easier to find and use (try finding the entrance to a subway station that has an elevator without wandering around for a bit!), more acceptance of buggy wheelchairs (ask @duxinco) and mobility scooters is needed before the Olympics.

Also, as @hannekedeenengmail-com can attest to, taking equipment like hoists between cities is nearly impossible.

A dream would be to not need ramps to get on/off as well 🙂

Oh, and highway buses / bus tours are out of the question as well.

Hope you get some good answers!

• Joan Pahisa

July 27, 2018 at 2:28 am

Hi Kathleen!

Let me add one more thing that should be improved transportation wise. It may seem trivial, but it actually isn’t. It’s the way to purchase wheelchair seats for long distance trains in Japan. It’s something that was changed during this year and it’s become quite troublesome.

First of all, accessible seats cannot be purchased online, as everyone does. This wasn’t possible either a few months ago, but it would be really nice as it’s something that technically shouldn’t be a problem. At least I’ve purchased accessible seating for lots of transportation online in many countries.