Accessible airport transportation options in Toronto

• Accessible airport transportation options in Toronto

Posted by Josh Grisdale on May 2, 2019 at 4:04 pm

Hello,

I need to give a talk about accessible transportation contrasting Japan (where I live now) and Canada (where I am from).  However, I always went by car in Canada, so I’m not really an expert!

The last time I was in Canada and went home from the airport I used a hired wheelchair van.

What public transit options are available?  Are there buses etc that stop at Toronto’s Pearson Airport?  If so, are they regular buses, or the kind with steps up and room for suitcases below?

Thanks!

kanikasharma replied 4 years, 2 months ago 4 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • Josh Grisdale

May 2, 2019 at 11:14 pm

Thanks!  I’ll look those

Are there any buses from Pearson to Union Station, like the GO Bus? (The company wants me to talk about buses, since they are a bus company.)

• Josh Grisdale

May 3, 2019 at 8:14 am

Fantastic, thank you!

• Marjorie

May 3, 2019 at 12:24 pm

Hey Josh,

You want an accessible route, I’ve taken them all.  The 52 that leaves Pearson and heads across Dixon then Lawrence all the way to Yonge, 24 hrs, every 15 to 25 mins. Lawrence west stn is accessible, but Lawrence is not.  The 191 goes to subway Kipling Stn, which us accessible.

The UP is great and now cheaper than it was. Super Accessible abs stops in Weston (by my Church), on the Bloor line and finishes at Union.

There are accessible taxi cabs that work for Pearson, like the limos.  There are only two and only one at night.  They don’t save them for people who have disabilities, so you have to wait in line.  I literally watched a family of three get in one, while I waited.  I pointed it out that I could only take that one and they could take any.  They were annoyed, the driver was annoyed, but my client and I were on our way home.   You can order an outside taxi, but it’s hard for them to find you and pick you up.